Is it legal to ride in the backseat of a truck in Mississippi?

Mississippi (WKRGMore) — There’s something about riding in the back of a truck that makes people feel liberated, but is it legal in Mississippi?

by Road Safety Insurance AssociationMississippi has no state laws or restrictions for riding in the back seat of a truck, regardless of age.

There are no laws against riding in the backseat of trucks, but there are plenty of laws restricting passengers.

according to Mississippi law“When a passenger vehicle is driven forward on any public road, street, or highway within this state, all drivers and all passengers must wear properly secured safety gear. Seat belt This system must be installed in vehicles if manufactured in accordance with Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 208. ”

A “passenger vehicle” is considered to be any motor vehicle capable of carrying 15 or fewer passengers.

News 5 also looked at potential fines and crimes in this case.

Violation of this chapter is a misdemeanor and carries a fine of twenty-five dollars ($25.00) if convicted. However, only the driver of the vehicle may be fined for violations of this chapter by the driver and passengers. The maximum fine that may be imposed on the operator of a vehicle for a violation of this chapter by the driver or by one or more passengers is twenty-five dollars ($25.00) in the aggregate.

https://www.wkrg.com/state-regional/mississippi-news/is-it-legal-to-ride-in-the-back-of-a-truck-in-mississippi/ Is it legal to ride in the backseat of a truck in Mississippi?

Show More
Back to top button